1898 The tower was fortified with an iron ring, among other things.
Around 1903: The wagon wheel attached to the top was not popular with the storks and fell into disrepair after 30 years. Since 1897, the storks have preferred to use the Strausberg Tower, also known as the Stork Tower.
1983: Financed by the state monument protection agency and organized by the cultural association, the tower has been saved from imminent decay.
From 2000: In 1983, a giant ladder was put in place so that people could climb the tower. This is still used today to reach the viewing platform. In 2003, members of the local history society and students from the city school completely renovated the "wooden" interior of the tower, secured it and provided it with an electrical connection.
2004: Since 2004, the tower can be climbed under supervision and offers a great view of the old town, the city wall and the ramparts.
City tours are possible after prior registration.
Tour recommendation
- Comfortable circular tour around the city wall of Altlandsberg
Recommended stop
- Ice cream parlor Berliner Tor














