The Sieversdorf village church It was probably built at the beginning of the 13th century, as it was constructed from hewn granite blocks. After the Thirty Years' War, the upper part of the tower was renovated, as the weather vane bearing the date 1683 clearly shows. Various alterations were made in the 17th century. For example, the windows were adapted to the Baroque style of the time, and an organ loft was created.
On the south wall of the organ loft are the remains of an early medieval wall painting from the end of the 14th century. The images depict Adam and Eve after their expulsion from Paradise. A coat of arms epitaph on the wall displays the family tree of Friedrich von Strantz (1601-1671) and his wife Lukretia von Wulffen (1626-1712). Two portraits and the inscription below commemorate the patron couple, Ludolf Ehrentreich von Strantz (1660-1723) and his wife Elisabeth Charlotte von Strantz, née von Birckholz (1675-1718). Between and above them rises Chronos, depicted as the Grim Reaper, as a reminder to remember the finiteness of earthly existence.
The color scheme of the chancel, featuring a starry sky, corresponds to a restoration analysis and was demonstrably present until the end of the 19th century. The carved altar is of art-historical significance. It was added from another church and consists of pieces from different periods and styles. The twelve Catholic figures of saints in the side wings date from between 1400 and 1425. The original holy virgins were recarved as apostles during the Reformation, and beards were added. The predella and substructure were added during the 2005 restoration. The old altar could no longer be restored after the reconstruction in the 19th century; today, only the central altarpiece on the south wall remains as a reminder of it.
Good to know
Contact person: in
Evangelical Jakobus Parish in the Oder Foreland
Nearby














