Steinsdorf Church

Churches
Among the many small village churches in the region, the Steinsdorf church is an architectural gem. The church, built on the village green, was first mentioned in 1310. It took on its current form many centuries later, as it was rebuilt in 1749. The beautiful rectangular half-timbered building with its wooden roof tower can be seen from afar. The interior is rather simply furnished and invites you to linger. The church is the only listed building in Steinsdorf. The external facade and roof were extensively renovated in 2003.

The interior is kept simple, but the wooden construction creates a harmonious atmosphere. A notable feature in the entrance area of ​​the church is an oak chest from the 14th century. Worth seeing are four panels of a pulpit with painted pictures of the apostles, which may date from the church's construction in 1749, but may also be older. The church has an organ built in 1929 by the Gustav Heinze S. Orgelbauanstalt company. Other items of art-historical significance include a paten, chalice, jug and wafer box (Vasa Sacra).

Guests are welcome to take a break and pause for a moment. The "open church" is open daily from June to September from 08.00 a.m. to 18.00 p.m.

There was once a wooden altar in the interior of the Steinsdorf church. The altar, which combines several eras and is decorated with 16 wooden figures, can look back on an exciting history. After extensive conservation work, it has been on display in the cloister of the Neuzelle monastery since 2018.

Good to know

Opening hours

Comfort information

  • Partially restricted flooring (indoor and/or outdoor)

  • Everything is accessible at ground level / without stairs

Distance of visitor parking to the entrance: 10

additional information
There is a step in the entrance area. Parking is available directly in front of the church.

Contact person: in

Neuzelle visitor information

Nearby

Contact


Dorfaue 1
15898 Steinsdorf