The church, which originated from a Cistercian foundation of the 13th century, was severely destroyed in April 1945. In the course of reconstruction from 1992 to 1997, the ruins of the Gothic hall church received a new roof. An architecturally unique addition houses the town library and an additional function room, both accessible by elevator. Secular and ecclesiastical uses are combined here under one roof. The excellent acoustics are appreciated by the audience and musicians alike. In addition to the concert series, changing artistic and thematic exhibitions are shown, books, authors and publishers are presented in the "Lesbar" and cinema and theme evenings are held in other formats. For years, St. Mary's has been the venue for the International Picture Book Festival "The Dark and the Light".
The church tower can be climbed and offers a great view of the surrounding area. For guided tours and tower climbs, please register by phone or e-mail.